The Year in Review: Top 20 Films of 2014

Well, here we are; the final week of 2014. The presents have been opened, the Turkey has been digested, and the vomit stains have been washed away, and so now seems like as good a time as any to countdown my top 20 films of the year.

2014 has been a strange little year for cinema. Comic book movies have dominated the Box Office once again, with critical hits like Captain America: The Winter SoldierX-Men: Days of Future Past and Guardians of the Galaxy smashing records, but intimate, independent cinema has also managed to flourish in the face of adversity, with films like The Grand Budapest Hotel and The Babadook garnering both critical and mainstream acclaim as audiences became increasingly disillusioned with sequels, adaptations and blockbuster fatigue.

Now, none of those films make it into my personal top 20, though that doesn’t mean I didn’t like them; it simply means that I liked the twenty on my list even more!

So, without further ado, here are my favourite films of 2014. All selections are based on release dates in the United Kingdom (though I admit to flouting my own rule at least once…) and naturally only include films I’ve actually seen, so potential entrants such as Under the SkinFrank, Two Days One Night and Annie (hey, you never know!) haven’t made the cut, but might well do once I’ve seen them.

(P.s. Click on the film titles to read my review, where relevant)

20 – THE DOUBLE

The Double - 2014 - 3

19 – AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY

August, Osage County - 2014 - 2

18 – THE TWO FACES OF JANUARY

The Two Faces of January - 2014 - 2

17 – FRUITVALE STATION

Fruitvale Station - 2014 - 3

16 – THE IMITATION GAME

The Imitation Game - 2014 - 2

15 – THE WOLF OF WALL STREET

The Wolf of Wall Street - 2014 - 2

14 – BOYHOOD

Boyhood - 2014 - 2

13 – GONE GIRL

Gone Girl - 2014 - 2

12 – THE GUEST

The Guest - 2014 - 4

11 – CHEAP THRILLS

Cheap Thrills - 2014 - 2

10 – 12 YEARS A SLAVE

12 Years a Slave - 2014 - 2

9 – SNOWPIERCER

Snowpiercer - 2014 - 2

8 – CALVARY

Calvary - 2014 - 3

7 – A MOST WANTED MAN

A Most Wanted Man - 2014 - 2

6 – THE ROVER

The Rover - 2014 - 2

5 – THE ZERO THEOREM

The Zero Theorem - 2014 - 4

4 – ’71

'71 - 2014 - 2

3 – STARRED UP

Starred Up - 2014 - 2

2 – PRIDE

Pride - 2014 - 3

1 – NIGHTCRAWLER

Nightcrawler - 2014 - 3

So, those are my favourite films of 2014. What do you think? What omissions do you think I’ve made? (And no, I didn’t “forget” to include Interstellar, before anyone asks…) Let me know in the box below! And don’t forget, you can also check out the full rankings of every film I’ve seen in 2014 too, just in case you’re really sad.

But yeah, that’s it for 2014. I’ll be back in January with reviews of BirdmanEnemyThe Theory of Everything and whatever other awards-bait hits UK cinemas in early 2015, but for now let me wish you all a fantastic New Year and thank you all dearly for reading / enduring my inane ramblings throughout the course this year!

