A Terrible Week for Cinema…

…and it’s only Wednesday. Sheesh.

On Monday we lost perhaps the most loved, respected and, in my view, underappreciated comedian and actor of his generation; the great Robin Williams. If the news about his tragic death weren’t distressing enough, late last night we also learned that another Hollywood legend – the effortlessly charismatic Lauren Bacall – has died aged 89.

Both Williams and Bacall played a major part in nourishing my love of cinema. As a child, Williams made me laugh uproariously (even in Flubber…) and, as I grew older, I came to appreciate him as a fierce dramatic actor, as well as a marvellous comedian. By contrast, I only became aware of Bacall a few years ago, when I first became interested in classic noir, but she dazzled with an unparalleled charm and raw talent whenever she was on screen. To think neither of them will ever make a film again, as selfish a reason to grieve as it might well be, saddens me in a way I can’t even begin to explain, but let us all at least be thankful that the movies they’ve made will outlive us all and entertain countless people for generations to come.

I don’t believe in Heaven but if it does exist, I bet Robin’s up there makin’ them laugh the way only he can, while Lauren’s on her fiftieth cigarette of the afternoon and enjoying a long-awaited reunion with Bogie.

And now I’ll leave you with this; Lauren Bacall collecting an honorary Oscar and being as fierce, fabulous, hilarious and wonderful as ever…

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-7PPOqbeNM]

