The Greatest Documentaries of All Time – A Discussion

Earlier this week, Sight & Sound Magazine published the results of their first ever “Best Documentaries” poll. As expected, Vertov‘s Man with a Movie Camera came top, with only two films from this decade – Nostalgia for the Light and The Act of Killing – even breaking into the top fifty.

So, my question to you today is this; what are your favourite documentaries? Do you think the contributors to the Sight & Sound poll have got it spot on, or do you think they’ve made some glaring omissions? Let me know in the box below and let’s see if we can get a discussion started. I’ll update this post with some of your suggestions as the week goes on, and see if we can cobble together our own little list! =)

P.s. Later this week, EQView will publish some of their selections for a more modern, mainstream list (including one of my own personal favourites), so I’ll link you to that as and when it’s published!

